Quick Answer
Cheapest ski resorts in Europe: what the price lists say
The lift pass is the one ski cost every resort publishes, so it is the fairest way to compare. Everything else (the room, the rental, the lessons) depends on where you sleep and who you book with.
The surprise in the 2026/27 numbers is how close they are. A day on Jahorina costs €50.50. A day in Livigno in January costs €66. The cheap resorts win on the six-day pass and on everything around it, not by a factor of three on the lift ticket.
VoyageHacks last verified every lift pass price, season date and school holiday on this page on 2 October 2026, from each resort’s own price list and from the official school calendars.
The lift pass table, resort by resort
VoyageHacks read each price below from the resort’s or lift company’s own ticket page on 2 October 2026. Where the 2026/27 list was not out yet, the row gives the 2025/26 price and says so. Prices are for one adult; “pistes” is the resort’s own figure, in whatever unit it publishes.
| Resort | Country | Season (as published) | Adult day / 6-day pass | Pistes (resort figure) | Usual gateway airport |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jahorina | Bosnia and Herzegovina | 2026/27, dates not yet published | €50.50 / €212.50 (2026/27) | 54 km | Sarajevo |
| Kopaonik | Serbia | 2025/26 list: from 15 Nov; mid-season 8 Jan to 10 Feb | 5,900 / 26,200 RSD (about €50 / €223), mid-season 2025/26 | about 55 km | Niš |
| Kranjska Gora | Slovenia | 2026/27 dates not yet published | €49 / €233 (2025/26) | 21 slopes, 800 to 1,215 m | Ljubljana |
| Vialattea (Sestriere, Sauze d’Oulx) | Italy | not stated on the price page | from €52 / from €261 (season not labelled) | 400 km skiable area | Turin |
| Livigno | Italy | 28 Nov 2026 to 2 May 2027 | €66 / €331 regular season, 9 to 29 Jan 2027 | 115 km | Milan |
| Les 2 Alpes | France | 28 Nov 2026 to 2 May 2027 | from €68 a day; six-day price not shown | 220 km | Grenoble or Lyon |
| Zell am See-Kaprun (Ski ALPIN CARD) | Austria | 27 Nov 2026 to 4 Apr 2027 | €82 / €440 peak, 19 Dec to 12 Mar; €74 / €396 outside it | up to 408 km | Salzburg |
| Bansko | Bulgaria | 1 Dec 2026 to 11 Apr 2027 | day pass not yet published; season pass €870 in pre-sale | not published on the resort site | Sofia (150 km) |
| Grandvalira | Andorra | not stated | dynamic pricing, no fixed day price | 215 km (308 km on the Andorra Pass) | Toulouse or Barcelona |
| Sierra Nevada | Spain | 2026/27 pre-sale open | day prices not yet published | more than 112 km | Granada |
| Jasná | Slovakia | not stated | dynamic; winter prices not loaded on 2 Oct 2026 | not read | Poprad-Tatry |
Kopaonik’s dinar prices are converted at about 117.5 RSD to the euro, the National Bank of Serbia’s middle rate for 2 October 2026. Kopaonik is cheaper still in its low season (15 November to 16 December and from 24 March): 5,600 RSD a day and 24,900 RSD for six days.
Three rows carry the decision.
Jahorina’s €212.50. It is the only resort on this list with a full 2026/27 price list already published, and its six-day pass is the cheapest one on it. The resort’s own calculator was also showing a 20% pre-sale discount on 2 October: 78 KM for a day instead of 98 KM.
Livigno’s €66. A big Italian resort with 115 km of pistes charges about €15 a day more than Jahorina in January. Its special-season price, €51.50 a day before 19 December and after 10 April, is level with the Balkans.
Zell am See-Kaprun’s €440. That is the Alpine reference point: a six-day Ski ALPIN CARD in peak season costs about twice Jahorina’s pass. Outside peak (before 19 December and from 13 March) it drops to €396.
Bulgaria: Bansko, priced by the season
Bansko sells its 2026/27 season pass for €870 to adults between 1 October and 1 December 2026, for a season it runs from 1 December 2026 to 11 April 2027. It had not posted a 2026/27 day price on 2 October.
The only recent day price on the resort’s site is from the opening of 2025/26: from 14 December 2025, with three slopes open, an adult day cost BGN 65, about €33.23. Treat that as an opening price, not a guide to February. Bansko gives Sofia, 150 km away, as its nearest airport.
Italy: closer to the Balkans than you think
Italy has two of the best-value big ski areas on the list. The Vialattea above Turin advertises day passes from €52 and six days from €261 across a 400 km skiable area. Livigno splits its season into three price bands:
| Livigno 2026/27 band | Dates | Day | 6 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Special season | 28 Nov to 18 Dec 2026, 10 Apr to 2 May 2027 | €51.50 | €258.50 |
| Regular season | 19 to 25 Dec 2026, 9 to 29 Jan 2027, 30 Mar to 9 Apr 2027 | €66.00 | €331.00 |
| High season | 26 Dec 2026 to 8 Jan 2027, 30 Jan to 29 Mar 2027 | €74.50 | €374.50 |
The Vialattea is also selling its 2026/27 season pass at €990 until 8 November 2026, against €1,300 afterwards.
Spain, Andorra and Slovakia: no fixed price to compare
Grandvalira states that its ski pass prices are dynamic and vary through the season, so there is no single figure to put in a table. Jasná uses the same kind of date-based pricing through its Gopass shop, and on 2 October its price list showed only autumn sightseeing tickets.
Sierra Nevada, above Granada, had opened its 2026/27 pre-sale (20% off season and 10, 15 and 20-day passes from 15 September to 15 October) but not its day prices. If you are pairing skiing with a city break in Andalusia, check its shop nearer the date.
When skiing in Europe is cheapest in 2027
The cheapest ski weeks are set by school calendars, not by snow. These are the 2026/27 dates from the official calendars:
| Country (calendar) | Christmas holidays | February holidays |
|---|---|---|
| UK (Royal Borough of Greenwich) | 21 Dec 2026 to 1 Jan 2027 | 15 to 19 Feb 2027 |
| France, Zone A (Légifrance) | 19 Dec 2026 to 4 Jan 2027 | 13 Feb to 1 Mar 2027 |
| France, Zone B | 19 Dec 2026 to 4 Jan 2027 | 20 Feb to 8 Mar 2027 |
| France, Zone C (Paris) | 19 Dec 2026 to 4 Jan 2027 | 6 to 22 Feb 2027 |
| Germany, Bavaria (Kultusministerium) | 24 Dec 2026 to 8 Jan 2027 | 8 to 12 Feb 2027 |
| Netherlands, north and middle (Rijksoverheid) | 19 Dec 2026 to 3 Jan 2027 | 20 to 28 Feb 2027 |
| Netherlands, south | 19 Dec 2026 to 3 Jan 2027 | 13 to 21 Feb 2027 |
The French dates are the arrêté’s “end of classes” Saturday and “return” Monday. Other UK councils set their own half term, usually in the same week.
Read week by week, 2027 has two clean windows:
- 11 January to 5 February. Every calendar above is back at school once Bavaria returns after 8 January, and French Zone C does not break up until 6 February. Livigno prices most of this window in its regular band.
- 8 March to Easter. France’s last zone returns on 8 March. Zell am See-Kaprun’s peak prices end on 12 March.
The expensive stretch is 6 February to 7 March, when the French zones, Bavaria, the Netherlands and UK half term overlap. Avoid it if your dates are flexible.
Best cheap ski resorts for beginners
A first ski trip needs gentle slopes, a nursery area and lessons more than it needs kilometres. Three of the cheapest resorts publish exactly that:
- Kranjska Gora, Slovenia. €49 a day in 2025/26, 21 slopes, and the tourist board describes it as a family resort where only the Snežna plaža area separates the hotels from the slopes. Night skiing runs on the Dolenčev rut chairlift and the Mojca 2 lift.
- Kopaonik, Serbia. Children aged 1 to 5 ski free with an adult on the beginner polygons and green and blue runs, and the ski kindergarten with a conveyor costs 1,200 RSD for an adult in 2025/26.
- Jahorina, Bosnia and Herzegovina. An adult ski kindergarten day ticket costs €31 for 2026/27, and 10 runs are homologated for night skiing.
Beginners do not need a big area, so do not pay for one. A €49 day on 21 slopes is better value for a first week than an €82 pass to 408 km you will not reach.
Snow reliability: altitude is the catch
Cheap and low often go together, and a low resort in a thin winter is the most expensive mistake on this page.
| Resort | Altitude (resort figure) | Snow note |
|---|---|---|
| Kranjska Gora | 800 to 1,215 m | Lowest on the list; check snow before booking |
| Kopaonik | not published on the page read | Snowmaking covers 97% of the runs |
| Bansko | opened 2025/26 at 2,600 m | 70 cm at Plato to 140 cm at Todorka on opening day, 13 Dec 2025 |
| Les 2 Alpes | 1,300 to 3,600 m | Glacier skiing at the top |
The practical rule: for an early-January trip to a resort under about 1,500 metres, book a refundable room and buy the lift pass on arrival. Pre-sale passes save 20% but most are not refundable if the snow does not come.
What else costs money on a ski trip
The lift pass is usually not the biggest bill. Budget for these as well:
- Equipment rental. Skis, boots and a helmet for six days. Our guide to ski gear to buy before you rent covers what is worth owning instead.
- Lessons. Group lessons are priced by the ski schools, not the lift companies, so none of the lists above includes them. Ask your hotel which schools it works with.
- The pass card itself. Kopaonik charges 500 RSD for its chip card.
- Insurance. Several resorts sell daily on-slope cover with the pass: the Vialattea adds €3.50 a day.
- Getting up the mountain. Bansko is 150 km from Sofia, so a transfer is part of the trip cost.
What to pack for a budget ski trip
The cheapest kit is the kit you already own. Our ski trip packing list covers layering for -10 °C lift rides. For cold days on the chairlift, heated vests and hand warmers are the small upgrade that changes the day, and a heated travel blanket helps in a chilly apartment or on a long transfer.
Where these trips go wrong
You booked mid-February
That week overlaps UK half term, two French zones and Dutch holidays. Same snow, higher prices, longer queues.
You compared day passes only
Jahorina and Livigno are €15 apart per day. The real saving is the six-day pass plus everything around it.
You pre-bought a non-refundable pass for a low resort
Kranjska Gora tops out at 1,215 metres. Keep early-January bookings flexible.
You waited for Grandvalira’s price list
There isn’t one: it is dynamic. Check the shop for your exact dates.
Sources
VoyageHacks read every figure on this page from the organisation that publishes it, on 2 October 2026. Lift pass prices change: confirm in the resort’s shop before you book.
- Olimpijski centar Jahorina, Cjenovnik sezona 2026/27, individualni (EUR), https://www.oc-jahorina.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/Cjenovnik-Zima-2026-Individualni-EUR.pdf, read 2 October 2026
- Olimpijski centar Jahorina, Ski pass 2026/27 price calculator, https://www.oc-jahorina.com/en/cjenovnik-ski-karata-zima-2026-27/, read 2 October 2026
- Skijališta Srbije, Kopaonik ski tickets price list 2025/26, https://www.skijalistasrbije.rs/sites/default/files/attachments/pricelist-skipass-kopaonik-2025.pdf, read 2 October 2026
- Skijališta Srbije, About ski resort Kopaonik, https://www.skijalistasrbije.rs/en/about-ski-resort-kopaonik, read 2 October 2026
- SKI Kranjska Gora, Price list, https://www.ski-kranjska-gora.com/en/winter/price-list, and home page (night skiing), https://www.ski-kranjska-gora.com/en, read 2 October 2026
- Kranjska Gora tourist board, Skiing, https://kranjska-gora.si/en/activities/skiing, read 2 October 2026
- Vialattea, Skipass types and prices, https://www.vialattea.it/en/skipass/, read 2 October 2026
- Skipass Livigno, Livigno skipass rates, https://www.skipasslivigno.com/en/livigno-skipass-rates/, read 2 October 2026
- Les 2 Alpes, Lift passes, https://www.skipass-2alpes.com/en/lift-passes, and Ski area, https://www.les2alpes.com/winter/discover/skiing-in-les-2-alpes/ski-area/, read 2 October 2026
- Schmittenhöhe, Winter tickets for Zell am See-Kaprun, https://www.schmitten.at/en/Tickets-Prices/Wintertickets, read 2 October 2026
- Banskoski, Promotional prices on seasonal ski passes, https://banskoski.com/en/news/promotional-prices-on-seasonal-ski-passes, read 2 October 2026
- Banskoski, Official start of winter season 2025-2026 in Bansko, https://banskoski.com/en/news/official-start-of-winter-season-2025-2026-in-bansko, read 2 October 2026
- Banskoski, Getting there, https://www.banskoski.com/en/page/getting-there, read 2 October 2026
- Grandvalira, Day ski pass, https://www.grandvalira.com/en/ski-pass/day, read 2 October 2026
- Sierra Nevada, Advance sale of ski passes 2026/27, https://sierranevada.es/en/invierno/ski-passes/advance-sale/, read 2 October 2026
- Jasná, Price list, https://www.jasna.sk/en/prices/prices-jasna/price-list, read 2 October 2026
- Royal Borough of Greenwich, school term dates 2026 to 2027, https://www.royalgreenwich.gov.uk/schools-and-education/school-term-dates/term-dates-2026-2027, read 2 October 2026
- Légifrance, Arrêté fixant le calendrier scolaire de l’année 2026-2027, https://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/jorf/id/JORFTEXT000052416058, read 2 October 2026
- Bayerisches Staatsministerium für Unterricht und Kultus, Ferientermine, https://www.km.bayern.de/ministerium/termine/ferientermine.html, read 2 October 2026
- Rijksoverheid, Overzicht schoolvakanties 2026-2027, https://www.rijksoverheid.nl/themas/onderwijs/schoolvakanties/overzicht-schoolvakanties-per-schooljaar/overzicht-schoolvakanties-2026-2027, read 2 October 2026
What changed
- 2026-10-02: first published. Kopaonik and Kranjska Gora show 2025/26 prices until their 2026/27 lists appear.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the cheapest ski resort in Europe for 2026/27?
On the official price lists read on 2 October 2026, Jahorina in Bosnia and Herzegovina has the cheapest six-day pass already published for 2026/27: €212.50 for an adult, or €50.50 for one day. Kopaonik in Serbia (26,200 RSD, about €223, in mid-season 2025/26) and Kranjska Gora in Slovenia (€233 in 2025/26) are close behind.
When is the cheapest time to go skiing in Europe in 2027?
Between Monday 11 January and Friday 5 February 2027. Bavaria’s Christmas holidays end on 8 January, and the first French winter holidays (Zone C) start on 6 February. Livigno prices that stretch in its regular band, €66 a day, against €74.50 in high season from 30 January.
Is Bansko still a cheap ski resort?
Bansko has not published its 2026/27 day pass yet. Its adult season pass is €870 if bought between 1 October and 1 December 2026, for a season the resort sets from 1 December 2026 to 11 April 2027. On 14 December 2025, with three slopes open, Bansko charged BGN 65 (about €33.23) a day, which was an opening price rather than a full-season one.
Why do some resorts not show a lift pass price?
Because they use dynamic pricing, which changes by date and by how early you buy. Grandvalira in Andorra says its prices are dynamic and vary through the season, and Jasná in Slovakia had loaded only autumn sightseeing prices on 2 October 2026. Check those resorts’ online shops close to your dates.
Which cheap ski resort in Europe is best for beginners?
Kranjska Gora suits beginners best on price and layout: €49 a day in 2025/26, 21 slopes between 800 and 1,215 metres, and night skiing on two lifts. Kopaonik lets children aged 1 to 5 ski free on its beginner areas, and Jahorina sells an adult ski kindergarten day ticket for €31 in 2026/27.
Are the cheap ski resorts in Europe snow-sure?
Not equally. VoyageHacks found that the cheapest resorts are often the lowest: Kranjska Gora’s slopes top out at 1,215 metres. Kopaonik covers 97% of its runs with snowmaking, and Les 2 Alpes in France reaches 3,600 metres on its glacier. For January at a low resort, book a refundable rate.
Ready to price a ski week?
Pick the week before the resort. In 2027, 11 January to 5 February and the weeks after 8 March are the two windows with no big European school holiday in them.
Then pick the pass. If you want the lowest total, the Balkans and Slovenia; if you want a big area for little more, Livigno or the Vialattea in January.
More in the calendar: where to go in December for early-season skiing, January and February, and the full when-to-go hub. The ski travel style collects our snow guides, the cheapest European countries covers the rest of the budget, and France has the regional picture for Les 2 Alpes.