Quick Answer
Best heated travel blankets 2026: decide by the plug, not the fabric
A heated travel blanket comes in four kinds, and each one has a different power source: a lithium battery pack, a car’s 12-volt socket, a wall outlet, or nothing at all. That one fact decides whether you can use it on a plane, whether it works in Europe, and whether airport security cares about it.
Most heated blankets sold for travel on Amazon are battery throws sold for camping and stadiums. They fly fine in a carry-on. Whether you can switch one on at 35,000 feet is now a separate question, and since March 2026 the answer on many airlines is no.
Skip this page if you only want a warm layer for the plane: a packable puffy blanket does that with no battery to declare. Everyone else, seven picks below, sorted by where they get their power.
62 x 55 in, 3.39 lb, carbon-fiber heating panels and a 7.4V, 20,000 mAh pack that measures 4.3 x 2.7 x 1.1 in. CYCYHEAT publishes 113, 120 and 130°F settings with 11 to 11.5 hours on low. The biggest cordless throw here, for a cold hotel room, a stadium or a cabin.
Check price on Amazon Live price on AmazonWearable hooded shawl, 9 heating zones, 113, 131 and 149°F settings, a 20,000 mAh USB battery rated for up to 16 hours, plus a wall plug and car adapter in the box. Machine or hand washable. The one to wear on a cold train or an airport bench.
Check price on Amazon Live price on Amazon70 x 42 in, removable hood, waterproof shell, 5 carbon-fiber zones on two separate switches (hand pockets, chest and back), 113 to 149°F, 16,000 mAh pack that can also charge a phone. Built for sitting outdoors in the cold.
Check price on Amazon Live price on Amazon59 x 43 in, 3 heat levels, 4-hour auto-off, 85-inch cord, two USB output ports (2.5A and 1A) and machine washable once the controller is unplugged. The road-trip pick with controls.
Check price on Amazon Live price on Amazon59 x 43 in polyester fleece, 96-inch cord that reaches the back seat, storage case included. Spot clean only, and the listing names no heat settings: plug in and it warms. The simple emergency-kit blanket.
Check price on Amazon Live price on Amazon50 x 60 in flannel and sherpa throw, 6 heat levels, 1 to 10 hour timer, 100W, ETL certified, machine washable. Built for 120V, 60Hz US outlets only. Good Housekeeping’s lab-tested Best Overall electric blanket, for a US hotel, cabin or rental.
Check price on Amazon Live price on Amazon38 x 52 in flat, packs to 4 x 10 in, 0.79 lb, NanoLoft recycled synthetic insulation, Cape Clip for hands-free wear, machine washable. No battery, no voltage, no airline rule: the one that works on every flight.
Check price on Amazon Live price on AmazonThe seven picks at a glance
Last verified 2 October 2026. VoyageHacks compared the manufacturers’ published specifications for 8 heated and packable blankets on their Amazon listings, plus 2 independent reviews from named publications (Good Housekeeping and AFAR), against the TSA, FAA and ICAO battery rules on 2 October 2026, and kept 7. Nothing here was tested by VoyageHacks: every temperature, runtime and size below is the maker’s own published specification.
| Blanket | Power source | Size | Heat settings (published) | Battery (published) | Works on a plane in flight? | Washing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CYCYHEAT Large Battery | 7.4V DC pack | 62 x 55 in | 113, 120, 130°F | 20,000 mAh, 7.4V | Only if your airline allows power bank use | Not stated |
| Secluded Valley Hooded | USB battery | Wearable shawl | 113, 131, 149°F | 20,000 mAh, up to 16 h | Only if your airline allows power bank use | Machine or hand |
| HENNCHEE Poncho | Battery pack | 70 x 42 in | 113, 131, 149°F | 16,000 mAh | Only if your airline allows power bank use | Not stated |
| Sealy 12-Volt | Car 12V socket | 59 x 43 in | 3 levels, 4 h auto-off | None | No (no 12V socket in the cabin) | Machine, controller removed |
| Stalwart 12V | Car 12V socket | 59 x 43 in | None listed | None | No (no 12V socket in the cabin) | Spot clean only |
| Bedsure Throw | 120V US wall outlet | 50 x 60 in | 6 levels, 1 to 10 h timer | None (100W) | No (no mains outlet for it) | Machine |
| Rumpl Travel Puffy | None | 38 x 52 in | None | None | Yes, always | Machine |
Two lines in that table matter more than the rest. The battery column is the only thing airport security checks, and none of the three battery listings prints a watt-hour figure, which is the number the rules use. The second is voltage: the Bedsure is the only pick that needs a wall outlet of a particular voltage.
CYCYHEAT Large Battery Heated Blanket: the battery throw to pack
The CYCYHEAT is a 62 x 55 inch cordless throw with carbon-fiber heating panels over the neck, back, waist and hands, powered by a separate 7.4-volt, 20,000 mAh pack. CYCYHEAT publishes three settings (113, 120 and 130°F) and runtimes of 4 to 4.5 hours on high and 11 to 11.5 hours on low. The pack itself is 4.3 x 2.7 x 1.1 inches and weighs 0.74 lb.
It is the largest battery throw here and the best for a cold hotel room, a ski cabin with weak heating, or a stadium seat. At 3.39 lb with the pack, it is a suitcase item rather than a personal-item one.
Buy it if you want a full-size blanket that does not need an outlet. Skip it if you want to wear it walking around: the Secluded Valley shawl is built for that. No major publication has reviewed it yet; it is here because it is the best-selling battery throw we found that publishes its pack voltage, runtimes and temperatures.
One honest flag before you fly with it: the listing pairs 20,000 mAh with 7.4 volts and prints no watt-hour figure. Read the label on the pack before the airport, as the rules section below explains.
Secluded Valley Cordless Heated Blanket: the one to wear
The Secluded Valley is a hooded wearable shawl with 9 heating zones across the chest, shoulders and back, three settings (113, 131 and 149°F) and a 20,000 mAh USB battery that Secluded Valley rates for up to 16 hours. A wall plug, USB cable and car adapter come in the box, and the listing says it can be washed by hand or in a machine. It drops from high heat after 5 minutes on its own, which Secluded Valley calls an auto step-down.
Buy it if you get cold on overnight trains, in airport lounges or at outdoor events and want your hands free. Skip it if you want a blanket to spread over a bed; the CYCYHEAT covers more. No major publication has reviewed it yet; it is here because it is the only hooded, USB-powered model in our shortlist that publishes its temperatures and runtime.
HENNCHEE Battery Heated Poncho: for sitting outside in the cold
The HENNCHEE is a 70 x 42 inch zip poncho with a removable hood, a waterproof shell and 5 carbon-fiber heating zones on two separate switches: one for the hand pockets, one for the chest and back. It shares the 113 to 149°F range of the Secluded Valley, runs on a 16,000 mAh pack, and the pack can charge a phone too.
Buy it if your trip involves cold, damp sitting: a ferry deck, a northern-lights wait, a winter market bench. Skip it if you will mostly be walking; the Secluded Valley is lighter on the body. No major publication has reviewed it yet; it is here for the waterproof shell, which no other battery pick on this list has.
Sealy 12-Volt Heated Car Blanket: the road-trip blanket
A 12V car blanket is a heated blanket with no battery of its own that plugs into a vehicle’s 12-volt accessory socket (the old cigarette-lighter outlet). The Sealy is 59 x 43 inches with 3 heat levels, a 4-hour auto-off, an 85-inch cord and two USB output ports (2.5A and 1A) that charge phones while it heats. It is machine washable once you unplug the controller and power cable.
Buy it if you are driving: a winter road trip with a rental car, a ski drive, a cold camper. Skip it if you are flying; a cabin has no 12V socket, so it is dead weight there. No major publication has reviewed it yet; it is here because it is the 12V blanket with published heat levels, a timer and machine washing.
Stalwart 12V Heated Car Blanket: the simple emergency-kit option
The Stalwart is the long-running basic version: 59 x 43 inches of polyester fleece, a 96-inch cord long enough for the back seat, and a storage case. Its listing names no heat settings, so it simply warms when plugged in, and it is spot clean only.
Buy it if you want a cheap blanket that lives in the trunk for winter breakdowns. Skip it if you want control over the heat or a machine-washable blanket; the Sealy has both. No major publication has reviewed it yet; it is here because it is the long-running basic car blanket most buyers compare against.
Bedsure Heated Throw: the lab-tested plug-in for a US hotel or cabin
The Bedsure is a 50 x 60 inch flannel-and-sherpa throw with 6 heat levels, a 1 to 10 hour timer and a preheat mode. Bedsure lists it as ETL certified, rated 100W, and designed only for standard US 120V, 60Hz wall outlets. ETL is Intertek’s product-safety certification mark.
Good Housekeeping named the Bedsure GentleSoft Solid Flannel Heated Blanket its Best Overall electric blanket in January 2026, after testing 12 heated blankets in its Textiles Lab with thermal cameras and temperature sensors, citing its fast, even heat and how it held up through repeated washes. That is the only lab verdict behind any pick on this page.
Buy it if you are staying somewhere with US 120V outlets and cold rooms: a rented cabin, an old hotel, a long stay. Skip it if your trip is in Europe, the UK or Asia with 230V outlets, which this blanket is not built for; read our voltage converter vs travel adapter guide first, or take a battery model instead.
Rumpl Travel Puffy: the answer for the plane itself
The Rumpl Travel Puffy is not heated. It is a 38 x 52 inch blanket of NanoLoft synthetic insulation that packs to 4 x 10 inches and weighs 0.79 lb, with a Cape Clip that fastens it around your shoulders and a machine-washable shell.
AFAR’s Lyndsey Matthews flew with Rumpl’s NanoLoft Travel Blanket, the earlier version at the same 38 x 52 inch size, at least four times and wrote that it covered her seated body from neck to toes while packing to roughly the size of a water bottle. That review dates from 2022, updated in November 2023, so it describes the predecessor, not this exact model.
Buy it if your cold problem is the airplane cabin. Skip it if you need real heat in a cold room; a puffy blanket keeps heat in, it does not make it.
What independent reviewers found
Independent lab testing exists for plug-in electric blankets. VoyageHacks found no major publication that has lab-tested battery, USB or 12V car heated blankets by name as of 2 October 2026.
| Product | Reviewer | What they found | Date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bedsure GentleSoft Solid Flannel Heated Blanket | Good Housekeeping | Best Overall of 12 tested: “the top performer in our tests across every category”, with fast, even heat and no change after several washes | 30 Jan 2026 |
| Beautyrest Heated Electric Blanket (not on this list) | Good Housekeeping | Best Value: heated slightly slower than the Bedsure and held a consistent temperature, though the wires were less closely spaced on the throw | 30 Jan 2026 |
| Sunbeam Royal Mink Sherpa (not on this list) | Good Housekeeping | Its heating element covered only about half the area of similar blankets | 30 Jan 2026 |
| Rumpl NanoLoft Travel Blanket (predecessor of the Travel Puffy) | AFAR | Flown at least four times by the reviewer; packs to about a water bottle and covers a seated adult neck to toes | 2022, updated 15 Nov 2023 |
Why no Beautyrest pick: the Beautyrest throw we found on Amazon is a plush-and-sherpa model, and we could not confirm it is the exact blanket Good Housekeeping tested, so we did not borrow that verdict for it.
Can you bring a heated blanket on a plane? The rules
Yes, and the blanket itself is the easy part. The TSA’s own Electric Blankets page answers yes for carry-on bags and yes for checked bags. The rules that matter apply to the battery.
A spare lithium battery is any lithium battery not installed in the device it powers, which includes a heated blanket’s detachable pack. A power bank is a portable battery whose job is to charge or run another device through a cable, which is exactly what a USB heated blanket’s battery does. A watt-hour (Wh) is the unit of stored energy the aviation rules use, and it equals the battery’s volts multiplied by its amp-hours.
| Rule | What it says | Who sets it |
|---|---|---|
| Blanket | Allowed in carry-on and checked bags | TSA, Electric Blankets page |
| Battery pack location | Carry-on only, never in checked bags; protect the terminals from short circuits | TSA Power Banks page; FAA PackSafe |
| Battery size | Up to 100 Wh with no approval; 101 to 160 Wh with airline approval, maximum two; over 160 Wh not allowed | FAA PackSafe (49 CFR 175.10) |
| How many | Maximum two power banks per passenger | ICAO, from 27 March 2026 |
| Recharging on board | Not allowed for power banks | ICAO, from 27 March 2026 |
| Using it in flight | ICAO recommends against powering devices from a power bank; airlines decide | ICAO and each airline |
| From 1 January 2027 | The 101 to 160 Wh tier for power banks is dropped | IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations, 68th edition |
What that means for each kind of blanket:
- Battery or USB blanket: pack the blanket anywhere, keep the battery in your carry-on, and count it toward your two-power-bank limit. If the blanket’s pack is removable, the blanket can go in a checked bag without it.
- 12V car blanket: no battery, so no battery rule. It is allowed but useless on board.
- Plug-in blanket: allowed in either bag, no battery rule, and nowhere to plug it in on board.
- Puffy blanket: no rule of any kind.
The in-flight question is where 2026 changed things. Lufthansa Group, KLM, Emirates, Etihad, Singapore Airlines, Cathay Pacific, Qantas, Japan Airlines, ANA and Korean Air ban using a power bank during the flight, so a USB blanket stays off on those carriers. American Airlines allows use only while the bank is within reach and visible, which a battery zipped inside a blanket pocket is not. Our power bank rules by airline table covers 38 carriers, read on each airline’s own page.
What goes wrong
- The mAh number hides the Wh number. The CYCYHEAT listing pairs 20,000 mAh with 7.4 volts. If both describe the same pack, that is 20 Ah x 7.4V = 148 Wh, which needs airline approval today and is not allowed as a power bank from 1 January 2027. If the 20,000 mAh is quoted at the 3.7-volt cell level, it is 74 Wh and fine. Only the label on the pack settles it, so read it before you leave home.
- A plug adapter is not a converter. A US 120V blanket on a 230V European outlet through a plug adapter alone can burn out or start a fire. A battery blanket avoids the problem because only its charger touches the wall; check that the charger reads 100-240V.
- Folding it while it is on. Good Housekeeping advises keeping an electric blanket spread out evenly and not bunched up, because bunching can create hot spots or damage the wires, and Bedsure’s own directions say not to fold or bunch it in use. Brown spots on the fabric mean it has overheated: stop using it.
- Buying one with no safety mark. Good Housekeeping recommends checking for a third-party certification such as UL or Intertek (ETL) before buying a plug-in blanket.
- Running a car blanket with the engine off. Neither Stalwart nor Sealy publishes how long its blanket can run from a parked car’s battery. Run it with the engine on, or from a portable power station with a 12V socket.
- Expecting a car blanket to fly. It packs, but a passenger cabin has no 12V outlet to run it.
Sources
| Organisation | Page | Link | Date checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| TSA | What Can I Bring: Electric Blankets | tsa.gov | 2 October 2026 |
| TSA | What Can I Bring: Power Banks | tsa.gov | 2 October 2026 |
| FAA | PackSafe: Lithium Batteries | faa.gov | 2 October 2026 |
| ICAO | New power bank restrictions will safeguard international aviation | icao.int | 16 September 2026, for our power bank rules page |
| IATA | Changes Regarding Power Banks, guidance to operators | iata.org | 16 September 2026, for our power bank rules page |
| Good Housekeeping | Only 3 Electric Blankets Earned Top Scores in Our Lab Tests | goodhousekeeping.com | 2 October 2026 |
| AFAR | Rumpl Blanket Review: The Best Travel Blanket for Airplanes | afar.com | 2 October 2026 |
| Manufacturers | CYCYHEAT, Secluded Valley, HENNCHEE, Sealy, Stalwart, Bedsure and Rumpl product listings on Amazon | Product cards above | 2 October 2026 |
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best heated travel blanket?
It depends on the power source you will have. VoyageHacks picks the CYCYHEAT 62 x 55 inch battery throw for trips and cold hotel rooms, the hooded Secluded Valley shawl to wear, the Sealy 12-volt blanket for road trips, and Good Housekeeping’s lab-tested Best Overall, the Bedsure throw, for a US hotel or cabin with a 120V outlet. On a plane, the non-electric Rumpl Travel Puffy is the only one with no battery rule at all.
Can you bring a heated blanket on a plane?
Yes. The TSA’s Electric Blankets page answers Yes for carry-on bags and Yes for checked bags. A battery-powered blanket is different: its lithium battery must travel in the cabin, because the TSA’s Power Banks page and the FAA’s PackSafe rules ban spare lithium batteries and power banks from checked bags. Pack the blanket anywhere, and keep the battery pack in your carry-on with its terminals protected.
What size battery can I bring for a battery heated blanket?
Up to 100 watt-hours (Wh) per battery with no airline approval, under the FAA’s PackSafe rules. Batteries of 101 to 160 Wh need the airline’s approval and are limited to two per passenger, and anything over 160 Wh is not allowed. To find the Wh figure, multiply the battery’s volts by its amp-hours, or read the Wh number printed on the pack. A 20,000 mAh pack is 74 Wh at 3.7 volts but 148 Wh at 7.4 volts, so check the label.
Can I use a battery heated blanket during the flight?
Often not. Since 27 March 2026, ICAO’s baseline limits passengers to two power banks, carried in the cabin and not recharged on board, and recommends not using them to power devices during the flight. Lufthansa Group, KLM, Emirates, Etihad, Singapore Airlines, Cathay Pacific, Qantas, Japan Airlines, ANA and Korean Air ban using a power bank in flight, which leaves a USB-powered blanket switched off. American Airlines allows use when the bank is within reach and visible. Check your airline before you fly.
Will a US heated blanket work in Europe?
A battery model will, because it runs from its own pack and only the charger touches the wall; check that the charger reads 100-240V. A plug-in US blanket will not. The Bedsure throw, for example, is built for 120V, 60Hz outlets, and Europe supplies 230V. A plug adapter changes only the plug shape, so a 120V blanket needs a step-down voltage converter rated above its wattage, or a 230V blanket bought locally.
Does a 12V heated car blanket work on a plane?
No. A 12-volt car blanket such as the Sealy or the Stalwart has no battery and draws power from a vehicle’s 12V accessory outlet, which a passenger cabin does not have. You can pack one, because it carries no lithium battery, but it only works in a car, truck, RV or from a portable power station with a 12V socket.
The bottom line
Pick by power source. The CYCYHEAT throw or the hooded Secluded Valley for trips, the Sealy for the car, the lab-tested Bedsure for a US cabin, and the Rumpl Travel Puffy for the plane itself. Keep any battery in your carry-on, read its Wh label, and check your airline before you plan to switch it on mid-flight.
Searches for heated blankets peak in the week of Black Friday, so if you are not cold yet, our Black Friday travel deals page is the time to buy. For the rest of a cold-weather kit, see the best heated vests and hand warmers for travel, a travel power bank that stays under 100 Wh, compression socks for flights and a long-haul travel pillow. The travel gear hub has everything else.