Quick Answer
The number everyone quotes is a US-only number
Search “carry-on suitcase size” and you get 22 x 14 x 9 inches, presented as if it settles the question. It settles nothing outside the United States, and it does not even mention weight.
American Airlines, United, Delta, JetBlue and Alaska Airlines all publish that exact figure, wheels and handles included. But Southwest and Frontier allow more. Ryanair’s paid cabin bag tier caps height at 20 cm, three centimetres under that figure’s 23 cm. Emirates and Qantas cap carry-on weight at 7 kg no matter how small the bag is, and several hardside shells on this page weigh 6 to 9 lb (2.7 to 4 kg) empty, before you have packed a single shirt.
Buy to the US number and you have bought a bag that may still get gate-checked in Europe or on a long-haul carrier. Buy to the tightest number across every published table, and it never gets measured anywhere.
How these picks were chosen
VoyageHacks compared the manufacturers’ published dimensions against 16 airlines’ own baggage pages on 2 September 2026, then added the TSA and Travel Sentry for the lock question, for 18 primary sources in total. Every product spec below is quoted from that product’s own listing, not restated from a competitor site, and every airline figure is quoted from that airline’s own published page, not an aggregator. No suitcase here was crushed, dropped or wheeled through an airport for this guide: this is a comparison of published specifications against published limits, which is the comparison that actually decides whether a bag gets gate-checked.
Samsonite’s own listing gives 15 x 10 x 23 in with the wheels on, a 34 litre polypropylene shell and 6.5 lb empty, which is light for a hardside case. A built-in combination lock is TSA-approved per Samsonite’s own spec table. The catch: 23 in tall is over the 22 x 14 x 9 in figure most US carriers publish, so measure your airline before you buy, not after.
Check price on Amazon Live price on AmazonAn ABS shell at 14.8 x 10 x 21.7 in including the wheels, 34 litres and 7.7 lb, expandable up to 25% more packing space. At 21.7 in it is the shortest case here, comfortably inside the 22 in height five US carriers publish. The catch: its 14.8 in width and 10 in depth are both over that same rule’s 14 x 9 in, and Amazon’s own listing states no lock, so budget for a TSA-approved add-on if you plan to lock it.
Check price on Amazon Live price on AmazonTravelpro publishes the case itself at 21 x 14 x 9 in, with wheels and handles pushing the overall footprint to 23 x 14.5 x 9 in. At 5.4 lb it is the lightest bag in this guide, with 46 litres of soft-sided capacity and a built-in combination lock. The catch: it expands up to 2 in, and expanded it no longer fits the box that got it on board in the first place.
Check price on Amazon Live price on AmazonSWISSGEAR’s spec sheet lists a 22.75 x 14.25 x 10.25 in exterior around a 21 x 12.75 x 10.25 in interior, 8 to 9 lb, and an expansion gusset that takes usable volume from 38.1 to 45.1 litres. A zipper-integrated TSA lock is built in. The catch: at 22.75 in tall before you even unzip the gusset, this one is already over 22 x 14 x 9 in and belongs on Southwest or Frontier’s bigger allowance, not on American or United.
Check price on Amazon Live price on AmazonSamsonite states packing dimensions of 19 x 14.5 x 9.5 in with an overall footprint of 22 x 15 x 9.5 in including wheels, in a 100% polycarbonate shell weighing 6.1 to 6.8 lb. A side-mounted TSA combination lock is built in. The catch: 15 in of overall width is over the 14 in most US carriers publish, even though the smaller packing dimension reads as compliant.
Check price on Amazon Live price on AmazonRockland’s own listing states 22 x 13.5 x 9 in with the wheels on and says the size is built to meet United, American, Delta, Southwest and Allegiant’s carry-on rules. It is an ABS shell with a built-in combination lock. The catch: this is the least expensive hardside case here, and the tradeoff shows up as a thinner shell wall than the Samsonite or Amazon Basics options, not as anything the dimensions hide.
Check price on Amazon Live price on AmazonAway’s own listing gives 22.7 in tall by 15.4 in long by 9.6 in wide, a 100% polycarbonate shell, a built-in TSA-approved combination lock and an interior compression panel. This is deliberately the biggest case in the guide: every one of those three numbers is larger than the 22 x 14 x 9 in figure American, United, Delta, JetBlue and Alaska publish. The catch: treat it as checked luggage on those five airlines, or as a Southwest and Frontier only carry-on, and never assume it clears a sizer elsewhere.
Check price on Amazon Live price on AmazonCarry-on size and weight limits, by airline, checked 2 September 2026
Every figure below is quoted from the airline’s own baggage page. “Includes wheels/handles” means the airline states the measurement covers the whole bag as it sits, not just the shell.
United States
| Airline | Carry-on limit (published) | In cm | Weight cap | Includes wheels/handles? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Airlines | 22 x 14 x 9 in | 56 x 36 x 23 cm | Not published | Yes |
| United Airlines | 22 x 14 x 9 in | 56 x 35 x 23 cm | Not published | Yes |
| Delta Air Lines | 22 x 14 x 9 in | 56 x 35 x 23 cm | Not published | Yes |
| JetBlue | 22 x 14 x 9 in | 55.9 x 35.6 x 22.9 cm | Not published | Yes |
| Alaska Airlines | 22 x 14 x 9 in | 56 x 36 x 23 cm | No weight cap published on the page we read | Yes |
| Southwest Airlines | 24 x 16 x 10 in | 61 x 41 x 25 cm | Not published | Yes |
| Frontier Airlines | 24 x 16 x 10 in | 61 x 41 x 25 cm | 35 lb / 15.9 kg | Not stated on the page we read |
Europe and long-haul
| Airline | Carry-on limit (published) | In inches | Weight cap | Includes wheels/handles? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ryanair (paid cabin bag) | 55 x 40 x 20 cm | 21.7 x 15.7 x 7.9 in | 10 kg / 22 lb | Yes |
| easyJet (paid large cabin bag) | 56 x 45 x 25 cm | 22 x 17.7 x 9.8 in | 15 kg / 33 lb | Yes |
| Wizz Air (paid trolley bag) | 55 x 40 x 23 cm | 21.7 x 15.7 x 9.1 in | 10 kg / 22 lb | No, but wheels may add no more than 5 cm |
| Lufthansa | 55 x 40 x 23 cm | 21.7 x 15.7 x 9.1 in | 8 kg / 17.6 lb | Not stated on the page we read |
| British Airways | 56 x 45 x 25 cm | 22 x 17.7 x 9.8 in | Not published | Yes |
| Air France | 55 x 35 x 25 cm | 21.7 x 13.8 x 9.9 in | 12 kg combined with personal item (18 kg Business) | Yes |
| KLM | 55 x 35 x 25 cm | 21.7 x 13.8 x 9.9 in | 12 kg combined with small bag (18 kg Business) | Yes |
| Emirates (Economy) | 55 x 38 x 22 cm | 21.6 x 14.9 x 8.6 in | 7 kg / 15.4 lb | Not stated on the page we read |
| Qantas (Economy) | 56 x 36 x 23 cm | 22 x 14 x 9 in | 7 kg / 15.4 lb | Yes |
Two things stand out. Wizz Air is the only carrier here that explicitly excludes wheels and handles from the measurement, capping how much they can add at 5 cm instead. And Emirates and Qantas, at opposite ends of the world, land on the identical 7 kg weight cap, which is the tightest weight limit of any airline on either table.
The one footprint that clears every airline
Take the tightest published figure in each dimension across all 16 carriers above and the picture changes completely from “22 x 14 x 9 in”:
| Dimension | Set by | Tightest figure |
|---|---|---|
| Length | Ryanair, matched by Wizz Air and Lufthansa | 55 cm / 21.7 in |
| Width | Air France and KLM | 35 cm / 13.8 in |
| Height | Ryanair’s paid cabin bag | 20 cm / 7.9 in |
| Weight | Emirates and Qantas, tied | 7 kg / 15.4 lb |
A bag no larger than 55 x 35 x 20 cm (21.7 x 13.8 x 7.9 in) and no heavier than 7 kg (15.4 lb) clears every table above. That is meaningfully smaller than 22 x 14 x 9 in on width and height, and it is the first time weight even enters the comparison, because none of the five US carriers that publish 22 x 14 x 9 in attach a weight number to it at all.
Here is the part worth saying plainly: there is no suitcase on this page, or anywhere, that is under the limit everywhere once weight is counted, only a size that is. Several hardside shells here weigh 6 to 9 lb (2.7 to 4 kg) empty. Pack one anywhere near full on a European or long-haul carrier with a 7 to 10 kg cap and the bag itself has already used up a third or more of the allowance before your clothes go in. A luggage scale at home is the only way to know where you actually stand before the airport does it for you.
Measured against the narrower US box alone, only one of the seven cases in this guide clears 22 x 14 x 9 in with its wheels on: the Rockland Melbourne, at 22 x 13.5 x 9 in. The Samsonite Freeform is 23 in tall, the Amazon Basics is 14.8 in wide and 10 in deep, the Travelpro Maxlite 5 measures 23 x 14.5 x 9 in once wheels and handles are counted, the SWISSGEAR Sion is 22.75 x 14.25 x 10.25 in, the Samsonite Omni PC is 15 in wide, and the Away Bigger Carry-On is over on all three axes. That is not a knock on any of them: it is simply what “including wheels and handles” does to a spec sheet, and it is exactly why the sizer at the gate catches people out.
Hardside or softside: what the shell actually buys you
Hardside (ABS, polypropylene or polycarbonate, like the Samsonite Freeform, Amazon Basics, Samsonite Omni PC, Rockland Melbourne and Away picks here) resists crushing in an overhead bin or a gate-check pile, sheds light rain, and wipes clean. Polycarbonate flexes and springs back under pressure; ABS is stiffer and, at this price tier, more prone to cracking at a corner over years of use.
Softside (nylon or polyester, like the Travelpro Maxlite 5 and SWISSGEAR Sion here) is usually lighter for the same interior volume, has external pockets a hardside shell cannot offer, and squeezes a few extra centimetres into a tight overhead bin. It also shows scuffs less and absorbs a hard corner impact rather than cracking.
Neither shell type changes what an airline’s sizer measures. Both are judged against the exact same external box.
The expandable trap
Almost every case in this guide expands: the Amazon Basics up to 25% more space, the Travelpro Maxlite 5 up to 2 in, the SWISSGEAR Sion’s gusset from 38.1 to 45.1 litres. Expansion is genuinely useful for the trip home with souvenirs. It is also the single most common way a compliant bag becomes a non-compliant one.
The dimension an airline publishes is measured on the bag as it is at the gate. A case that is 22 x 14 x 9 in zipped shut and 23.5 x 14 x 9 in with the gusset open is a different bag by the only measurement that matters, and a gate agent’s sizer does not care which state you packed it in. Treat the zip as something you open at the hotel on the way home, not something you rely on to fit more on the way out.
The bigger carry-on trap: when “carry-on” in the name is not “carry-on” in the box
Away markets its 23 in case as The Bigger Carry-On, and the name is honest about the tradeoff even if it reads like reassurance. Away’s own listing gives 22.7 x 15.4 x 9.6 in. Compare that against the 22 x 14 x 9 in figure that American, United, Delta, JetBlue and Alaska Airlines all publish and every one of those three numbers is over the line, not just one.
It is also over Ryanair’s paid cabin bag height cap of 55 x 40 x 20 cm (7.9 in), and it is one of the heavier hardside shells to begin with, on top of whatever you pack. That does not make it a bad suitcase. It makes it the wrong suitcase for five of America’s largest airlines and for Ryanair’s paid tier, and the right one only if Southwest or Frontier’s bigger 24 x 16 x 10 in allowance is what you actually fly against. Check the box before the brand name.
TSA-accepted locks: what the red diamond actually means
The TSA states it plainly on its own site: officers can open a TSA-accepted lock using a universal master key, so the lock does not have to be cut to screen the bag. The packaging tells you whether a given lock qualifies. Locks that pass this program carry a red diamond symbol issued by Travel Sentry, the company that runs it, and that symbol is recognized by other countries’ security agencies too, not just the TSA.
If your bag is unlocked, the TSA simply opens it and screens the contents by hand if anything alarms. If it is locked with something TSA cannot open, the agency states the lock may be cut. Every locking case in this guide (the Samsonite Freeform, Travelpro Maxlite 5, SWISSGEAR Sion, Samsonite Omni PC, Rockland Melbourne and Away) carries a TSA-approved combination lock built in. The Amazon Basics Hardside Spinner is the one exception here: its own listing states no lock, so add a separate TSA-accepted padlock if you want to lock that one.
Edge cases worth knowing before you fly
A weight cap you cannot see is still a weight cap. Alaska Airlines’ page states the 22 x 14 x 9 in size limit clearly but did not show a weight figure in the section we read, so do not assume Alaska has none; check at booking rather than guessing either way.
Combined allowances catch people out. Air France and KLM both cap the small bag and the main carry-on together, at 12 kg in Economy, not 12 kg each. Pack a full laptop bag as your personal item and you have less room in the case than the case’s own limit implies.
A “meets airline size rules” claim on a listing is not a guarantee. The Rockland Melbourne’s own page states it is built to meet United, American, Delta, Southwest and Allegiant’s rules, and the dimensions back that up for those five carriers, but it still exceeds Ryanair’s, Emirates’ and Qantas’ published limits, because it was never built against those.
Gate-checked bags change the power bank rule. If your carry-on gets gate-checked because a flight is full, spare batteries and power banks have to come out and travel in the cabin with you, not in the bag, per FAA guidance on lithium batteries. Keep anything with a battery in your under-seat bag, not buried in the suitcase, so this is a five-second fix rather than a scramble at the jet bridge.
What changed
- 2 May 2026: Spirit Airlines ceased operations and no longer flies. Its old carry-on figure matched several surviving US carriers, which is why “22 x 14 x 9 in” listings referencing Spirit are still common on Amazon, but the airline itself is gone.
Sources
- American Airlines, carry-on bags and size limits , checked 2 September 2026.
- United Airlines, carry-on bags , checked 2 September 2026.
- Delta Air Lines, carry-on baggage , checked 2 September 2026.
- Southwest Airlines, carry-on baggage policy , checked 2 September 2026.
- JetBlue, carry-on bags , checked 2 September 2026.
- Alaska Airlines, carry-on luggage , checked 2 September 2026.
- Frontier Airlines, sizes and weight limits for bags , checked 2 September 2026.
- Ryanair Help Centre, Ryanair’s bag policy , checked 2 September 2026.
- easyJet, cabin bags , checked 2 September 2026.
- Wizz Air, baggage allowance , checked 2 September 2026.
- Lufthansa, carry-on baggage rules , checked 2 September 2026.
- British Airways, baggage essentials , checked 2 September 2026.
- Air France, baggage: weight, size, and allowance , checked 2 September 2026.
- KLM, hand baggage allowances , checked 2 September 2026.
- Emirates, carry-on baggage rules , checked 2 September 2026.
- Qantas, carry-on baggage allowances , checked 2 September 2026.
- TSA, travel tips , checked 2 September 2026.
- Travel Sentry, TSA lock , checked 2 September 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best carry-on suitcase in 2026?
The Samsonite Freeform Hardside Carry-On is the best overall pick on build and weight: 15 x 10 x 23 in with the wheels on, 6.5 lb empty, a TSA-approved combination lock and a durable polypropylene shell. Note that its 23 in height is over the 22 in that American, United, Delta, JetBlue and Alaska Airlines publish. The only case in this guide that fits inside that 22 x 14 x 9 in box with its wheels on is the Rockland Melbourne, at 22 x 13.5 x 9 in.
What is the standard carry-on suitcase size?
There is no single standard. American Airlines, United, Delta, JetBlue and Alaska Airlines all publish 22 x 14 x 9 in (56 x 36 x 23 cm), including wheels and handles. Southwest and Frontier allow a bigger 24 x 16 x 10 in. European and long-haul carriers measure differently again, and several of them add a weight cap that the US carriers on this list do not publish at all.
Does a 22 x 14 x 9 inch carry-on fit every airline?
No, and this is the single most common mistake buyers make. That figure is a US domestic number. It has no weight limit attached, and it is too tall for Ryanair’s paid cabin bag tier, which caps height at 55 x 40 x 20 cm, and too heavy for Emirates and Qantas, which both cap carry-on weight at 7 kg regardless of size. VoyageHacks checked all 16 airlines against each carrier’s own baggage page on 2 September 2026.
What is a TSA-accepted lock?
A TSA-accepted lock, marked with a red diamond under the Travel Sentry program, can be opened by security officers using a universal master key instead of being cut off the bag. The TSA states plainly that if your bag is unlocked, an officer will simply open and screen it if something alarms, but if it is locked with a lock TSA cannot open, the lock may be cut.
Why does an expandable suitcase stop fitting an airline’s size limit?
Because the published limit is measured on the case as it actually is at the gate, not as advertised unexpanded. The SWISSGEAR Sion’s expansion gusset takes it from 38.1 to 45.1 litres, and the Travelpro Maxlite 5 expands up to 2 in. Both extra inches push a case that was compliant when zipped past a carrier’s box once the zip is open, which is exactly when a gate agent measures it.
Is Spirit Airlines’ old carry-on rule still relevant?
No. Spirit Airlines ceased operations on 2 May 2026 and no longer flies, so none of its baggage rules apply to anything now. Its old 22 x 14 x 9 in carry-on figure matched several surviving carriers anyway, which is why the number still shows up on product listings, but check the airline you are actually flying rather than a name on a box.
The bottom line
Buy to the tightest limit across the airlines you actually fly, not to 22 x 14 x 9 in and not to a brand name on a listing. If your year includes Ryanair, Wizz Air, Emirates or Qantas alongside US carriers, aim for something close to 55 x 35 x 20 cm and 7 kg, and weigh it packed before you leave the house. If you fly American, United, Delta, JetBlue or Alaska Airlines only, the Rockland Melbourne at 22 x 13.5 x 9 in is the one case here that fits their published box with its wheels on, and the Travelpro Maxlite 5 is the one to choose if weight on your shoulder matters more than shell rigidity, accepting that its 23 x 14.5 in overall footprint is over that box even though the case body alone is not.
Pack light enough and you may not need checked luggage at all. Pair a carry-on with a personal item bag sized to your airline, or drop the wheels entirely with one of the best carry-on travel backpacks . Packing cubes and compression packing bags buy back space inside whichever size you land on, and a luggage tracker is cheap insurance for the one time a bag does get checked against your will.
See how the fee structures actually compare in Ryanair vs Wizz Air vs easyJet and our full breakdown of Europe’s airline baggage fees . Airline-specific rules and reviews live on American Airlines , United Airlines , Delta Air Lines and Wizz Air . Everything else we pack lives in the travel gear hub .